A new study by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) found that Pennsylvania has some strong Graduated Driver’s License (GDL) laws. In fact, Pennsylvania is the only state to currently require new drivers to complete the recommended 65 hours of supervised driving instruction. Additionally, Pennsylvania has a minimum permit age of 16. Yet, Pennsylvania could do better to keep teen drivers safe.
According to the IIHS, Pennsylvania could further reduce crashes among 16 and 17 year olds by 6 percent and could reduce fatal accident among 16 and 17 year olds by 27% if it took further actions. Some of the recommended actions include:
• Making the minimum licensing age 17, as it is in New Jersey.
• Starting nighttime driving restrictions at 8 p.m.
• Not allowing teen drivers to have teen passengers in the car.
It is important to teach your teens how to stay safe in the car and to know how to reach a PA auto accident lawyer for help if your child is hurt in a crash. Will you voluntarily impose some of the IIHS recommendations in your own family? Do you have other limitations that you believe are important to the safety of your children? Please leave a comment and share your thoughts with us and with other concerned parents.